1. Local

Discuss in my forum

How To Obtain a Real Estate License in Arizona

By

In an area that has such phenomenal growth, real estate is a big business. If you are interested in getting your real estate sales or broker's license, here's how you do it.
Difficulty: Average
Time Required: Several months

Here's How:

  1. You must be at least 18 years of age when applying for a real estate license.
  2. You may not have had a real estate license denied within one year, or revoked within two years immediately before applying.
  3. If you had an Arizona real estate license that expired and was not renewed within one year of expiration, you may request certification of prior Arizona licensure.
  4. If you were originally licensed in AZ more than 10 years ago, you may not be able to use your prior prelicensure education unless you have worked in a related field or have held a license in another state.
  5. If you have never had a real estate license you must complete prelicensure education course(s) of at least 90 classroom hours and pass a school and state examination on the course.
  6. All new salesperson licensees must also take a six-hour continuing education course in Contract Law and Contract Writing before they may activate their licenses.
  7. You must verify that you are honest, truthful, of good character and competent. Information and documentation relating to the applicant's background must be provided on an application.
  8. You will be required to disclose your date of birth and Social Security Number.
  9. You must have at least three years actual work experience as a real estate salesperson or broker during the five years immediately preceding application for a broker's license. If your experience was in a state other than Arizona, you must obtain a certified license history of the the past five years from that state.
  10. There are fees required to take both the salesperson's and broker's exams.
  11. You can expect to pay between $200 and $300 for your license. Renewals start at about $100.
  12. You must apply for a license within 1 year of passing the examination. If you don't, you will be required to take and pass the state and national examinations again before becoming eligible to apply for a license.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.