1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Arizona Rattlers

Arena Football is Popular in the Valley


Arizona Rattlers
Getty Images

The Arena Football League suspended operations for 2009. The Arizona Rattlers at that time filed or bankruptcy. In 2010 a new arena football league was formed, and a new Arizona team, still called the Arizona Rattlers, joined that league.

The Arizona Rattlers is one of 18 Arena Football teams in the AFL. Here is some history and trivia about the Arizona Rattlers:

  • The Rattlers played their first regular game in the Spring of 1992. Danny White, former Dallas Cowboys quarterback, and a favorite of Arizona fans since the years he played football for Arizona State University, has been the Head Coach since the team's inception.
  • On June 13, 1992 the Rattler won their first home game ever. This was also the first sporting event to be held at the America West Arena in downtown Phoenix.
  • The Arizona Rattlers were a hit. They sold out every game of their first season. They were the only arena football team to do so in the history of the AFL.
  • In 1993 the Arizona Rattlers played in their first playoffs.
  • In 1993 Danny White was named Coach of the Year, and Hunkie Cooper was awarded Most Valuable Player by the league.
  • In 1994 the Arizona Rattlers go all the way, winning the Arena Football Championship.
  • During the first five seasons that the team played, they filled 98% of the seats at the America West Arena.
  • In 1996 the Rattlers break another team record--they won nine games in a row.
  • In 1997 Danny White logs his 50th win as an arena football coach.
  • In 1998 the popular player Calvin Schexnayder broke three AFL records: most receptions (136), most yards (1,982), and most touchdowns (44, tied mark) in a single season.
  • In 2000 Hunkie Cooper sets a record with 17 touchdown returns.
  • In 2000 the Arizona Rattlers were undefeated on the road.
  • In 2001 Hunkie Cooper broke the 10,000 yard mark for career kickoff return yards.
  • In 2002 the Rattlers earn their third trip to the championship ArenaBowl, but they lost.
  • In 2003 the Arizona Rattlers set an arena football record by having two consecutive games where they scored more than 80 points.
  • In 2003 the Arizona Rattler try the ArenaBowl again, but once again, they are not the winners.
  • Could 2004 be the year? I guess not. The San Jose Sabercats handed the Rattlers their third ArenaBowl defeat.
  • In 2004 we marked the end of an era, when Danny White's contract was not renewed. Danny spent 13 years as Coach and General Manager of the Rattlers.
  • In 2005 the Rattlers retire Hunkie Cooper’s #14. That was the first Rattler's number to ever be retired.
  • Sherdrick Bonner became the fourth quarterback in AFL history to throw 700 touchdowns in 2006. In that same year, the Rattlers set a team franchise record for most points scored in a half with 47, and the largest margin of victory in a 75-28 win over Las Vegas.
  • Kevin Guy was named the Rattlers' Head Coach in the 2007 off-season. Guy previously spent two seasons with the San Jose Sabercats (2007 Arena Bowl champs).
  • After the 2008 season the Arizona Rattlers files for bankruptcy, as did the Arena Football League. Season ticket holders were offered a credit toward any future season.
  • There were no arena football games played in 2009.
  • A new league was formed, and a new team in Arizona, using the same name as the previous team, was formed naming Danny White as Team President and Kevin Guy as Head Coach.
  • In 2010 the Arizona rattlers Rod Windsor was named AFL Rookie of the Year and Danny White was named Assistant Coach of the Year.
  • The Arizona Rattlers had a record of 18 wins and 3 losses in 2011 and worked their way to the ArenaBowl XXIV Championship. They lost to the Jacksonville Sharks with a score of 73-70.
  • 2012 was a better result, with the Rattlers winning ArenaBowl XXV over the Philadelphia Soul. The last time they won the championship was in 1997.
  • Two in a row! The same matchup in the 2013 ArenaBowl and the same result. The Arizona rattlers beat the Philadelphia Soul and became the 2013 Champions!

Arizona Rattlers Facts and Trivia
Arizona Rattlers Current Schedule and Ticket Info
Map and Directions to US Airways Center
Seating Chart for the US Airways Center

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.