Congratulations on your decision to marry! In order to get married in Arizona, you need to have a marriage license. Compared to some other states, it is pretty easy to get a marriage license, and there is no waiting period. Here's what you need to know, and what you have to do to get one. Note: These details were obtained from the Clerk of the Superior Court of Maricopa County.
Time Required: A Few Hours
- If you are both 18 years or older, you can get a marriage license.
- If you are under 18, you must either have a notarized parental consent form or have your parents accompany you, present the proper identification, and sign the parental consent form in front of the clerk issuing your license.
- If you are age 16 - 17 identification and one of the following documents showing proof of age is needed: certified copy of birth certificate; current driver's license; state or military I.D. card; or current passport.
- If you are age 15 or under, you must also have a court order to get a marriage license.
- The fee for a marriage license is $76 payable by cash or check with a driver license, bank guarantee card or credit card. There is an extra charge for a certified copy, which is required if the bride wishes to change her name at Social Security and MVD. If you are purchasing a license at the Justice Courts, they accept checks, money orders, or cashiers checks.
- No blood test is required to obtain a marriage license. Copies of previous divorce decrees are not required.
- You may be required to provide proof of age to obtain a marriage license.
- You will receive your marriage license at the time you apply for it, so you can be married on the same day.
- There are locations in every part of town that make it convenient for you to obtain a marriage license. Click on the link under 'Related Resources' near the bottom of this article to see those locations and their hours.
- The marriage license is valid for one year, and can only be used within the State of Arizona.
- Marriages may be performed by a member of the clergy, a judge, a magistrate, a clerk of the circuit court, or a clerk or clerk-treasurer of a city or town.
- There are special requirements for Covenant Marriages. Check the link at the bottom of this page for definitions and requirement for such marriage licenses in Arizona.
- You do not have to be an Arizona resident to get a marriage license here.
- Neither common law marriages nor same sex marriages are recognized in Arizona. In 2004 They stopped allowing application for the license by mail to ensure that a marriage license would not be issued to a same sex couple.
- First cousins may marry if both are 65 years of age or older or if one or both first cousins are under sixty-five years of age, upon approval of any superior court judge in the state if proof has been presented to the judge that one of the cousins is unable to reproduce.
- If you have other questions about a marriage license, you may contact the Clerk of the Superior Court at 602-506-3360 or 506-2125.
What You Need:
- Proof of age
- A fiancée