1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Cities and Towns of Maricopa County

Which Communities are Located Within Maricopa County, Arizona?


Maricopa County
© Judy Hedding

Maricopa County is located in central Arizona and is one of 15 counties in Arizona. Maricopa County has more people than any other AZ county. Of the 10 largest cities in Arizona, 9 of them are in Maricopa County. The only city in the top 10 that isn't is Tucson, located in Pima County.

Cities and Towns of Maricopa County, Arizona

There isn't too much of a distinction between cities and towns here; suffice it to say that these are all incorporated areas with some sort of locally elected council and either a Mayor or a manager. Those places with a ("T") after the name are incorporated as towns.

  1. Avondale
  2. Buckeye
  3. Carefree (T)
  4. Cave Creek (T)
  5. Chandler
  6. El Mirage
  7. Fountain Hills (T)
  8. Gila Bend (T)
  9. Gilbert (T)
  10. Glendale
  11. Goodyear
  12. Guadalupe (T)
  13. Litchfield Park
  14. Mesa
  15. Paradise Valley (T)
  16. Peoria
  17. Phoenix
  18. Queen Creek (T)*
  19. Scottsdale
  20. Surprise
  21. Tempe
  22. Tolleson
  23. Wickenburg (T)
  24. Youngtown (T)

*This city/town crosses county borders. Part of this community is located in Maricopa County and part is located in Pinal County, but most of the population is in Maricopa County. Likewise, Apache Junction, which does not appear on this list, is partly in Maricopa County but most of the population lives on the Pinal County side.

Other Large Communities in Maricopa County, Arizona

Some communities that you might have heard about aren't actually cities or towns. They are simply large unincorporated areas located within Maricopa County. Because they have more than just a few people living there, they are considered significant enough to be designated as a CDP (Census Designated Place) by the Census. These may be considered county islands, but many county islands are just small tracts of land.

You might be familiar with these CDPs within Maricopa County that are technically neither city or town:
  • Aguila (west of Phoenix)
  • Anthem (north of Phoenix)
  • Morristown (northwest, near Peoria)
  • New River (north of Phoenix)
  • Rio Verde (northeast of Scottsdale)
  • Sun City (northwest of Phoenix)
  • Sun City West (northwest of Phoenix)
  • Sun Lakes (southeast of Phoenix)
  • Tonopah (west of Phoenix)
  • Wittman (northwest, near Wickenburg
There are some community names that aren't on these lists that are in Maricopa County, but they are not cities, towns or even CDPs. They are actually just neighborhoods within the City of Phoenix. If you were looking for areas like Ahwatukee, Sunnyslope or Laveen check the urban villages of Phoenix listing.

You still think I missed some? What about Arrowhead, Vistancia, DC Ranch, Grayhawk and Ocotillo? What about Desert Mountain, Trilogy and Marley Park? Those aren't cities and they aren't towns, although several of them are large enough to be cities. Those are simply master-planned communities. They are all located in one of the cities or towns listed above.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.